Must Have Mondays – NIVEA for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm

Remember way back when I let you in on my secrets and posted my Secret Weapons list? I spoke briefly about the NIVEA for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm (isn’t that a mouthful? let’s just call it the “Shave Balm”) and how amazing it is as a makeup primer. This was first introduced by NikkieTutorials in a “Favorites” video, which is below.

Since posting about it, I’ve had a few months to try the Shave Balm out and test it further. Results are in: it’s still amazing! Seriously, I haven’t even bothered using any other primer, because this guarantees that my makeup will go on smoothly and last forever. Let’s get into more details about it, shall we?

IMG_6345

The Packaging

The Shave Balm comes in a standard square cardboard box, and it is sold in a 3.3 fl. oz. size. This is especially amazing, because most primers usually only contain about 1 ounce or less (I’m looking at you Baby Skin!). The box itself isn’t anything out of the ordinary, it’s mostly white and has navy blue, gray, and some green accents. I bought mine at a Duane Reade, this is available for purchase at most drug stores and Target.

IMG_6348IMG_6346

The bottle is made of milk glass, and has a thick plastic top. The material of the bottle feels a little heavy, which isn’t bad to me, because it is sturdy and can definitely withstand my clumsiness. I’ve been known to drop a few prized possessions and had the displeasure of shattering them.

Exhibit A (My Champagne Pop, which has now been replaced):

500x500

RIP baby, RIP

Anyway, back to the Shave Balm! The formula itself is somewhat runny and thin, which is perfect for those of us who like a lightweight primer. With all the products that go on our faces, the lighter the formula, the better for me.  Because the product is so thin, and the opening of the bottle is somewhat large, you’d think the product would just drip out in excess. But the bottle’s shape allows me to control the amount of product I pour out easily.

The Ingredients

IMG_6347

The Shave Balm’s ingredients are listed as follows:

Water, Glycerin, Isopropyl Palmitate, Chamomilla Recuitita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Tapioca Starch, Triceteareth-4 Phosphate, Maltodextrin, Carbomer, Sodium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Methylisothiazolinone, Piroctone Olamine, Fragrance

The order of ingredients in products indicates the amount used. For instance, water being the first ingredient indicates that the product is mostly made up of water. The important thing to make note of here is that glycerin is the second ingredient on our list. Glycerin is great because it is a liquid with humectant, attaching properties. This helps moisturize the skin while also creating a surface that attaches and bonds the makeup we wear on top of it, so that it goes on smoother and stays on longer.

Price

The price of the Shave Balm definitely plays a big role in my decision to continue using it. At under $6 it is tough to beat, especially when it works better than some high end primers on the market. My favorite primers include the MAC Prep + Prime Natural Radiance Primer which costs $41 for 1.7 oz, the Makeup Forever Step 1 Skin Equalizer is $37 for 1 oz, the Laura Mercier Primer is priced at $36 for  1.7 oz, and the Maybelline Baby Skin is $7 for 0.67 oz tube, and yet I still prefer this Nivea Shave Balm (which isn’t even intended for this use)! So save that money and use it for more makeup!

tumblr_nd0o6s023c1rfduvxo1_500

Cons

When applying this Shave Balm as a primer, it is fairly easy to apply too much at first, as you don’t know the amount your skin will need. I make sure not to overdo it though, because then my face feels really wet and uncomfortable. About a dime sized amount does the trick, but because the formula is so thin it took me a few tries to realize the correct amount for my particular skin. The Shave Balm is also targeted for men, and therefore smells like a manly product. The scent isn’t overbearing but it can be annoying if you have a heightened sense of smell. Usually when applying this, the scent subsides after I put my foundation on top of it, but I’ve heard people complain that the smell never goes away. Like most products, the scent and results of this as a primer really depend on your individual skin chemistry. Because what may work wonderfully for me (as this does), may not have the same effect on you.

Final Thoughts

I can’t recommend this Shave Balm enough.  At its price point, the pros definitely outweigh the cons. The results are surely comparable to the best-selling primers on the market. On top of that, there is none of the chalky feeling that comes with smoothing primers. If it turns out that the primer does not suit your skin, you’ll only be out $6, as opposed to if you purchased something like the Guerlain L’Or Pure Radiance Face Primer which will set you back $74 (ouch!). So give it a try, it might just be as life-changing for you as it is for me! Make sure the Shave Balm you get is the one for sensitive skin, as this is the tried and trued one.

Bonus

Here is yet another bad quality iPhone picture of me, 5 hours after applying my makeup and priming with this amazing product!

IMG_6352

Have you tried this NIVEA for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm as a makeup primer? Did you love it?

 

5 thoughts on “Must Have Mondays – NIVEA for Men Sensitive Post Shave Balm

Leave a Reply

