Get Ready for Valentine’s Day Playlist

Let’s continue our Valentine’s Day Series!

But first, a little science lesson:

I have a Bachelor’s in Psychology, and I often use the things I learned towards seemingly unrelated tasks (like applying makeup). I just honestly believe that there are many lessons that can be applied to our everyday lives. For instance, I enjoy listening to music while I get ready. So how fun is it that Stanford actually conducted a study which revealed that “music moves the brain to pay attention“?! So it’s possible to assume that if we listen to  music while we do our makeup,we mayyyy pay more attention (I’m looking at you winged liner). Or maybe not if you’re like me and end up singing into your makeup brushes like you’re a pop star, but let’s go with the first option.

If you recall from my Valentine’s Day Gift Guide, I spoke about how the scent of chocolate on the Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Eye Shadow Palette can release endorphins. I never actually clarified what endorphins were, though. Endorphins are chemicals released by your brain which make you feel good. Things like chocolate, exercise, and music are scientifically proven to boost endorphins. My girl Elle Woods knows this:

tumblr_mq7jzkdd4m1szx1oxo1_

With Valentine’s Day approaching, and all the “Romantic Makeup” videos taking over YouTube, I thought it’d be fun to put together a playlist for you to jam to while you get ready. Seeing as music helps you pay attention and releases endorphins, you know. Doing your makeup for your hot date (or to stew on the couch, like I will probably be doing) should be more fun than ever! Check out the playlist below and follow me on Spotify so we can dance together.

Have a safe, fun, and makeup-filled Valentine’s Day! Don’t forget to check back for the rest of the Valentine’s Day posts!

tumblr_mvdxkjamrq1rkrgxgo1_250

Leave a Reply

