Secret Weapons

I like lists. To start this post, I’m going to make a list of things that make me happy.

  • Falsies that don’t lift at the corners
  • Eye shadow that shows its true colors
  • Lipstick that doesn’t smudge
  • Foundation that goes on smoothly & lasts all day (without the cake)
  • Clean brushes without the hassle of cleaning brushes

Now, the 🔑(that’s a key) to most things in life is preparation. If you prepare in advance, you are statistically more likely to succeed (I definitely just made that up, but I’m sure it’s true!). So let’s prepare to slay with our flawless makeup using some of my favorite products, which I like to refer to as my secret weapons.

For “falsies that don’t lift at the corners”:

This lash glue was the answer to all my prayers! I was completely unable to wear false lashes before, because no matter how many times I tried, they just would not stick to my eyes correctly. It would take me a bagillion tries just to get the lashes on, then a half hour later my inner corners would lift and ruin my day. However, I recently discovered House of Lashes (if you know me you know how much I love those Siren lashes!) and their amazing glue. They offer the adhesive in two options: clear and black. While some people love the clear adhesive, I found that on me it left a bit of  residue that would catch the light and make it obvious I was wearing falsies (because lashes that almost touch your eyebrows look natural as can be, we’ll go with that). Plus, I always wear liquid/gel liner so the black blends better with it, and if it looks a little shiny I just pat on some black shadow and mattify that sh*t. The glue dries almost instantly, so for best results I don’t let it get too tacky. I sing the chorus of whatever Justin Bieber song is playing (don’t judge me!) and then proceed to place the lashes as close to my lashline as possible with some regular tweezers. My lashes stay put all day and only come off when I (gently) pull them off.

For  “eye shadow that shows its true colors”:

 

Soft Ochre is one of those things you don’t know you need until you try it, and then you can’t live without it. Personally, I didn’t really care for eye shadow until a couple of months ago when I got bored of the same cat eye look I would do every day. I decided to give eye shadow a go, and when I applied it using a regular primer I didn’t see anything that amazed me, actually I barely saw anything at all. The eyeshadow looked dull on my pigmented veiny lids, and light colors were virtually invisible. I came across the Paint Pot and remembered how all the YouTube gurus raved about it, so I gave it a try. It was love at first try. Soft Ochre successfully created an even color canvas that erased any veins and natural pigment from my eyelids. I set it with a light eye shadow (otherwise it gets kind of dry and I can feel it on my lids) and then do whatever look I want with excellent results.

For “lipstick that doesn’t smudge”:

While you’re on the MAC site, might as well check out the secret weapon for perfect lipstick. MAC’s lip primer provides a smooth, invisible base that slightly moisturizes and smoothes lips. I like to apply this when I first start doing my makeup so by the time I get to my lipstick, it’s dry and ready to go. I can’t tell you how many times I thought those retro matte lipsticks were gonna make my lips so dry they turned to dust. This lip primer most definitely came to the rescue and I no longer have that fear! Phew!

For “foundation that goes on smoothly & lasts all day (without the cake)”:

This has been the most unexpectedly amazing product I have tried. Thanks to NikkieTutorials (whose video is below) and her inventiveness, she found that using her boyfriend’s aftershave balm as a makeup primer rendered some incredible results. One of the main ingredients in this balm is glycerin which is not only moisturizing, but also acts as a bond that helps attach your makeup to your skin. The results are amazing moisturized, healthy and radiant skin. Definitely try this magic in a bottle!

 

2297477_fpx

You ever find something that claims to be good for “everything” and you sit there in disbelief and decide you need it because you want to prove the world wrong? No? Just me? Well, fine. Fix+ is one of those things that everyone loves and raves about, and it just didn’t make sense to me how there could be something that could do so many things and not suck. So I went and purchased it (for science, you know). All the reviews are true. It’s life-changing. You can spray some on your brush to get more vivid colors from your eye shadows, you can spray it on your face before you apply foundation to “wake up” your skin (but it’s not a primer), you can spray it on your face after you’re done with your makeup to make the makeup look less cakey (but it’s not a setting spray), and you can apply it after a few hours to refresh your makeup. It’s the do-it-all everyone needs in their life.

From the Urban Decay website’s description box:

“All Nighter keeps your makeup looking gorgeously just-applied for up to 16 hours – without melting, cracking, fading or settling into fine lines.”

Do I even need to say anything else? They described this setting spray perfectly. Go get it!

For “clean brushes without the hassle of cleaning brushes”:

I hateeeeeeeeeee cleaning my makeup brushes. There, I said it. It’s so annoying and it takes so long. So naturally, I was over the moon when I first heard of Cinema Secrets. The cleanup process is shockingly easy: you pour some of the solution onto the tin, you swirl your dirty brushes in it, and you wipe your brush on a clean towel (or paper towel). Within minutes, the brushes are dry and smell like vanilla. This product will simplify your life so you can go back to creating masterpieces on your face!

FYI:

None of the pictures on this post belong to me. They are to be credited to the linked websites. This was not an advertisement in the slightest, but rather, a list of products I personally love and recommend to anyone looking to make sure their makeup is on point at all times. I hope you enjoyed my secret weapons and can share some of your own!

 

5 thoughts on “Secret Weapons

Leave a Reply

