Kylie Lip Kits

Let’s talk about what was, perhaps, the hardest  lipsticks to obtain of all time: the Kylie Lip Kits by Kylie Jenner. With minimal marketing, which was mostly done through an Instagram account created a mere 24 hours before launch, the lip kits sold out in under 30 seconds.

24 HOURS #lipkitbykylie #KYLIECOSMETICS

A post shared by Kylie Cosmetics (@kyliecosmetics) on

The price ($29) wasn’t disclosed until the Lip Kits launched, and to me the shipping ($8) was a little ridiculous. However, the Lip Kits came packaged in one of the coolest boxes I’ve ever seen and included a liquid lipstick and a lip liner. Personally, I think the price for the Kits made sense, as you are receiving two products that cost around $15-20 each for a combined price of $29.

In order to purchase my Lip Kits I had to make three separate transactions (yes, I had to pay shipping three separate times, please don’t remind me!). However, although I bought all the Kits, my True Brown K order was cancelled after a couple of weeks (and a few “WHERE’S MY STUFF?!?!?” emails). Which means I’ll just have to deal with the craziness again when there is a restock.

FullSizeRender (3)

IMG_4183

IMG_4184

IMG_4186

IMG_4185

The Struggle

The Lip Kits were a nightmare to purchase. The website address wasn’t announced until the moment the Lip Kits went on sale, yet somehow people gained access to it prior to the launch. Nevertheless, I was able to place my order for Candy K on November 30th. Shipping took over two weeks. Dolce K and True Brown K were ordered during the restock in December, which coincidentally was the day I received my Candy K. Although my order for True Brown K was canceled, Dolce K arrived pretty quickly.

The Lip Kits

The actual product is great. The moussey, lightweight formula of the liquid lipsticks is comparable to favorites like Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks ($20) and the Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipsticks ($20). The lipsticks have a vanilla scent (similar to MAC’s lipsticks but somewhat stronger). At first the scent was kind of annoying because it felt too strong, but for some reason it grew on me and now I don’t mind it so much. The color payoff is excellent, one coat will be opaque enough to cover your lips. The longevity is also there, which is awesome. I can apply my lipstick before getting to work at 8 AM, eat breakfast, drink water and coffee, and eat my lunch with minor fading. Re-applying the lipstick doesn’t make it flake off like with other liquid lipsticks, but I usually just add a gloss after lunch because it helps it blend a little better.

I’m not over the moon about the liners and almost never use them, but they get the job done when necessary. I personally prefer to wear liquid lipsticks without a liner under, because for some reason it makes the pigment stick to my lips better. It is entirely up to you whether you wear a liner under or not, but my advice would be to apply the liquid lipstick on its own and use the liner to make the lines sharper.

IMG_4192

(Dolce K on top, Candy K under it without flash)

IMG_4193

(Dolce K on top, Candy K under it with flash)

Final Thoughts

If you can get your hands on the Lip Kits, then definitely go for it. Both Dolce K and Candy K are my go-to everyday, wear-with-anything, lipsticks. It feels like I have nothing on and even mixed together (or with other colors) they look excellent. Although some people complained about the colors being “basic” I think Kylie did an excellent job formulating colors that work for a wide range of skin tones. Make sure you follow the Instagram page (and mine!) so you’re in the loop and know exactly when they will go on sale.

Dupes

If you’re just dying to get your hands on something similar while you wait for the restock, check out the following dupes for Kylie’s Lip Kits!

Candy K

Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick in Pure Hollywood ($20)

MAC Lipstick in Velvet Teddy ($17)

NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Nude Pink ($3.49)

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lippie in Clueless ($6)

Dolce K

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow N Arrow ($20)

NYX Slim Lip Pencil in Mauve ($3.49)

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lippie in Teeny Tiny ($6)

True Brown K

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick in Dominatrix ($18)

OFRA Cosmetics Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Mocha ($19.90)

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lippie in Limbo ($6)

Leave a Reply

